mvervinck

March 3, 2013

Coffee and the Paper

Filed under: Uncategorized — mvervinck @ 7:13 pm
Tags:

      I love lazy Sunday mornings.  I take my time sipping my cup of coffee while perusing the fat thick Sunday newspaper.  Most mornings I have to read the paper via my Kindle since the days of home delivery each and every morning are now gone, but on Sundays, the paper is still delivered so that I can enjoy it as it was meant to be read, on paper.  I don’t read each and every word, but I do take time to go through each and every section.  

This morning, I came across an article titled “Answer these 20 questions to find your potential” by Josh Linkner in the Business section of the paper.  I started reading the article, but ended up only reading a few of the questions because the questions were good, too good.  The first question was, “What are three things in your life that are holding you back?”  That question just made me cringe.  There are things I want to do in my life, and probably the main thing holding me back is me!  I jumped down to question 4 which asked, “When is the best time to take your next big leap?  Why not sooner?”  The answer to this question hinged on the answer to the first one!  It was up to me to begin what I want to do, and I am not comfortable yet making that big leap into the unknown.  I decided it was time to jump to the end of the set to see what the last question was.  “What are you waiting for?”  was the last question listed.  I groaned; I was waiting for….me to do what I want to do.  No one else but me.

Then, I turned the page and went on reading the rest of the paper while sipping my coffee.  However, that wasn’t the end of it.  As I sat down to write this post, the article popped into my mind.  I went to look for the paper, and I assumed it was where I left it on the dining room table.  (After all, my coffee cup was still there!)  It was gone.  Luckily, before I went outside and started to dig through the big green recycling bin, I looked into the small bin indoors hoping that it was there.  It was.  I dug it out of the trash, turned to the business section and cut it out of the paper.   It isn’t often that I feel compelled to keeps an article such as this, but I have a feeling that this article may be the catalyst to the start of something new for me.  Everyone needs a little shove now and then to try something new.  Maybe, just maybe, it is time for me to step out of my comfort zone.

2 Comments »

  1. You are absolutely right.. Everyone does need a little push and I think your post serves as a nudge as well. We need these little reminders to keep us in check. I’m going to look us the article too. Thanks for keeping the motivation going!

    Comment by brighidk28 — March 3, 2013 @ 7:42 pm | Reply

  2. Those indeed sound like good questions. Later I will go back and read the article. I thought about the questions you shared. My answer was also me.

    Comment by Ruth Chandler Ferris — March 3, 2013 @ 10:30 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

