mvervinck

March 17, 2013

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Filed under: Uncategorized — mvervinck @ 5:58 pm

I am not Irish, but I still enjoy celebrating a bit.  I went out this morning to the grocery store to purchase corned beef and all of the traditional fixings that go with it.  I put everything in my slow cooker and it will be ready for dinner this evening.  My whole house smells so good, and I really hope that it tastes as good as it smells!  This is the first time I have tried to make corned beef in my slow cooker, so it may or may not also be the last!  The recipe I used can be found at:  Corned Beef and Cabbage.

As for the other American traditions that seem to accompany this holiday, I do like the color green, but I don’t enjoy beer.  When my kids were little they would make Leprechaun Traps out of shoe box, string, bits of green paper, and whatever else they thought a leprechaun would fancy in order to trick him into tripping their traps.  They never caught a leprechaun, but they did usually end up with chocolate coins for their efforts.  This is the first year that I did not purchase the coins for them, and I think I am the only one who even thought of them.  I guess it is another thing that has now gone by the wayside.

I wish everyone a happy and safe St. Patrick’s day, however you do or do not celebrate it!

0433f_st_patricks_day_clip_art_free_in_irish_stpatricks-shamrock

1 Comment »

  1. I love the idea of a leprechaun trap! Seamus leaves coins at our house: http://morebooksthantime.blogspot.com/2013/03/solc-2013-day-17-luck-o-irish.html

    Comment by Christine Margocs (@cmargocs) — March 17, 2013 @ 6:26 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

