mvervinck

March 31, 2013

So Many People Doing Just About the Same Thing!

Filed under: Uncategorized — mvervinck @ 8:20 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Happy Easter!  In a previous post, I wrote about how this Easter would be very different from the ones our family has celebrated in the past.  It was.  I appreciate all of the kind comments from the SOL community.  We even added a wrinkle into the works that I didn’t anticipate.  My son currently has a 24 hour bug (which I really hope I don’t get), so it has been a memorable Easter in more ways than I thought.

I have made the best of it, and I still cooked a large meal for the family who was here today.  I guess it really doesn’t matter if I celebrate on the specific date of the holiday.  I know my family will be together soon and all of those dining room chairs will be filled along with more people who will come to join our family over the coming years.  The sad part is, eventually some people will not be able to join us, but even then, I still have the wonderful memories of when they were here.

In honor of the day, and cooking with my mom, here is a recipe that I enjoyed making.  I called her today and brought up the fact that I was making this.  The funny thing is, she didn’t remember it and doesn’t have the fond memories that I do of it.  I guess it all depends on our own perspectives at specific times in our lives what we really do remember.  It is something that we would make in the fall, but it tastes just as good this time of year, too.  Enjoy!

Image

Raspberry Cream Tart

Pastry Shell
Preheat oven to 375F.  Then measure 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup butter (softened) and 1/3 cup sugar.  With hand, knead mixture until blended.  Pat pastry onto the bottom and up the side of a 10 inch tart pan with removable bottom.  Bake 20 minutes or until pastry is golden brown.  In cup, beat 1 egg white; use to brush hot pastry shell.  cool pastry shell in pan on wire rack.

Custard Filling

While the pastry is baking, prepare the custard filling.  In heavy 2-quart saucepan, stir 1/4 cup sugar, 3 Tbsp, all-purpose flour, 1 envelope unflavored gelatin, and 1/4 tsp. salt.  In medium bowl, with fork beat 2 eggs, 1 egg yolk, 1 1/2 cup milk; stir into sugar mixture.  Cook over medium-low heat, stirring until gelatin is completely dissolved and mixture thickens and coats a spoon (about 15 minutes).  Do not let boil, or custard may curdle.  Remove saucepan from heat.  Stir in  1/2 tsp. almond extract. Refrigerate until mixture mounds slightly when dropped from a spoon, about 1 hour.

In small bowls with mixer at medium speed, beat 1/2 cup heavy cream or whipping cream until soft peaks form; fold whipped cream into custard; spoon mixture into cooled pastry shell.  Arrange 1 pint of raspberries on custard (or any other seasonal fruit) and refrigerate tart for 1 hour or until custard is set.

Makes 10 servings.  195 calories per serving.

3 Comments »

  1. Our Easter was very different this year, too. I’m just thankful that everyone is well and happy. As you say, we will be together on different days and keep the memories of loved ones who can’t be here. On a happier note, the tart looks delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Comment by readingtothecore — March 31, 2013 @ 9:21 pm | Reply

  2. Oh…the recipe looks really yummy….so I have to try it. I hope your son feels better and that you don’t get the bug. This Easter for us had someone missing…so I related to your words. Thanks for posting. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

    Comment by jhaworthoy — March 31, 2013 @ 9:39 pm | Reply

  3. That looks delicious! We enjoyed a quiet afternoon with just the three of us. I hope you were able to enjoy despite the nasty bug. Hope your son feels better soon.

    Comment by Kay McGriff (@kaymcgriff) — April 1, 2013 @ 12:31 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

