mvervinck

March 1, 2014

My New Afternoon Ritual

My New Afternoon Ritual

I am so happy to be back writing my little “Slice of Life” each day for the month of March! A lot has happened to me since I stumbled upon the link last year at this time of year about the challenge. I successfully completed the challenge last year, and I look forward to doing so again this year.

Back to my cup of tea…
This is something new for me – enjoying a cup of tea in the afternoon. However, because of things happening in my life, I’ve come to realize how much I have been letting life and activities control me and not the other way around.  I realized that I was doing things to get them done, but I wasn’t always enjoying myself in the process.  I needed something to look forward to each day that I could do even on cold wintery snowy days where I could stop, sit, and do nothing in particular.  Enjoying a cup of tea seemed to be the perfect answer.

I started out with heating water in the microwave in an old mug and dunking a tea bag into the water for a few minutes.  That lasted a few days, but I knew that there had to be a better way to brew a better cup of tea.  Then, during a trip to Ikea, I saw it.  A glass teapot which went into my cart followed by cute little black and white mugs.  I purchased them and when I got home, I dug out my old tea kettle from the back of a cupboard, washed it out, and filled it with water.  On the stove it went, and while I was waiting, I found the small bag of tea a student had recently given me as a thank you for tutoring her.  (On a side note, I loved tutoring her!  Each time we met at her house for tutoring, she would have a cup of tea or coffee for us to enjoy as we worked.)  Once the whistle blew, I poured the hot water into the tea pot and waited…

Once it was done, I poured the tea into my mug, blew on it and sipped it.  What a difference a little effort made!  The tea tasted so much better!  Now, each afternoon when I am home at around 3:30, I brew a cup or two of tea.  I knew I was onto something special when my daughter asked me one afternoon if she could make some tea for us.  I said, “Sure, why not!”  Off she went and brewed the best cup of tea we have ever had!

 

3 Comments »

  1. Mmmmmm, nothing like a nice cup of tea. Perfect drink when it’s hot or cold. A real thirst quencher. I think the act of making it is just as rewarding as drinking it too. Good on you for doing something for you. Looking forward to hearing more slices from you. 🙂

    Comment by Tracey — March 1, 2014 @ 10:32 pm | Reply

  2. There is something wonderful and relaxing about a cup of tea, at any time of the day! So glad you shared your new ritual here and look forward to more.

    Comment by Betsy Hubbard — March 1, 2014 @ 11:05 pm | Reply

  3. Ohhh, sounds wonderful. I just finished my afternoon cup of tea too!

    Comment by Diane Sweeney — March 1, 2014 @ 11:39 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

