mvervinck

March 9, 2014

A Walk in the Park

Filed under: Uncategorized — mvervinck @ 10:07 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Today my daughters and I spent part of the afternoon walking at the nearby park.  I even bought a year long pass so I can do this more often especially when it gets warmer.  There were other people there enjoying the break in the bad weather.  Before we started, we walked out on the lake.  Yes, it is frozen!  We saw a dad and his child playing hockey on a cleared area with two nets.  Gazing further out, there were clusters of people ice fishing.  Looking at the horizon, I could see a green kite floating in the sky.  It was strange walking past the piers and into the lake and standing where we usually cast off when taking our boat out on warmer days.  We look forward to those days!

Back on land, I walked, and they ran.  It was nice to look around while smiling at others passing by going in the other direction and gazing out at the silent snowy woods.  It was quiet and peaceful with just the clop, clop, clop of my feet hitting the ground.  (I need new shoes for this!)  I walked and watched the ground to calculate my progress.  .25 miles….1mile…2 miles…time to turn around and head back.  I count down…1 mile….and then, we are back at the car.   Four miles in …well, we got there at 2:50 and it was only 3:35.  Really!  Wow!  We were moving very fast today for the first day out.

We drive home and walk in the house.  My husband is on his way out the door to go to work.  Well, that’s interesting!  He doesn’t work until 6:00.  Wonder why he is leaving so early?!  Oh well, maybe he has some errands to run first.  I glance up at the clock.  What?!  5:08?  Really?  Ohhh……that’s right, we sprang forward last night!  Guess I should recalculate the time it took to fun/walk today.  It actually makes a lot more sense… 1 1/2 hours to walk 4 hours.  Guess I didn’t move as quickly as I thought I did. 🙂  Maybe next time!

2 Comments »

  1. Like how to wove in the time change into your slice, I know it has been a piece of everyone’s day. Loved how you varied the length of your sentences, I could feel the rhythm. I liked the clop, clop. You used the words to create a speed in the reading of your slice.

    Comment by Laura — March 9, 2014 @ 10:31 pm | Reply

  2. Walking in the park, on the ice, in the quiet woods. This all sounds absolutely lovely. Funny you realizing the time change when you did.

    Comment by Betsy Hubbard — March 9, 2014 @ 11:04 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

