Uncategorized

My Health

I am at a point in my life where my priorities must shift a bit.  I must move taking care of myself and my health up to the top of my priority list.  My health is always something I have taken for granted.  Other than the occasional cold or sinus issues, I really have not had many health issues.  Unfortunately, I have a hidden genetic disease that now necessitates that I put myself and my health at the top of my priority list.  Now, twice monthly doctor visits, blood draws, and more (that I am not quite ready to share via social media) are part of my life.  I must watch what I eat and make sure I do not eat too much of this vitamin and not enough of that vitamin.  And, for the most part, people at work and those I meet on the street would not be able to guess what I am dealing with nor how I am feeling, which is usually tired and exhausted.  There are times, like today, when I needed to cocoon and take care of me instead of attending meetings or writing reports.

It is true that many people are dealing with issues or problems that are not visible.  For me, it isn’t that I don’t want to share, I do.  I will when I am ready.  For now, it is enough for me to take care of me.

This is not a happy slice of life, but it is what I am dealing with.  It is a slice of my life, and a part of who I am.