Uncategorized

Career Fair

I spent tonight telling students about what it is like to be a linguist and an ESL teacher.  I was one of those people behind the table talking to kids about possible career choices.  I don’t know if it was the M&Ms we had at the table, but we spoke to more than 50 people about the opportunities that are available to people with a major in linguistics or, in particular, applied linguistics.  There were kids of all ages who stopped by for a quick chat.  It was wonderful.

Needless to say, I am tired and am parched.  Time for a drink of water and to rest for tomorrow.

If you are interested, here is one of the information handouts we used tonight.  It is a great career!

careers_in_linguistics

One thought on “Career Fair

  1. I’m the self appointed giver of water at our school. I try to greet all presenters with a bottle of cold water. Wish you’d been at my school.

Leave a comment